NYSE: FIS

Fidelity National Information Services, Inc.

Alpha Intelligence

Shareholder and Governance Insights

An evidence-led view of acquisition integration, debt, ownership, compensation voting, valuation, AI controls, and the decisions now before FIS directors.

Executive summary

FIS began 2026 with 6.5% pro forma revenue growth, 12% adjusted EPS growth, and sharply higher free cash flow. The January issuing acquisition also increased long-term debt to $16.89 billion and placed a newly acquired business outside management's internal-control effectiveness assessment for the first quarter. At the same time, nearly three in ten votes cast opposed executive compensation, the stock materially underperformed the S&P 500, and FIS is preparing agentic AI for regulated financial-crime workflows.

FISNYSE: FIS
Verified quoteTemporarily unavailable
Review evidence

Alpha view

The operating case improved faster than the governance assurance record. The board now needs to make integration controls, debt reduction, compensation responsiveness, and system-level AI evidence visible before the next expansion milestone.

What changed
Pro forma revenue increased 6.5%, adjusted EPS increased 12.4%, and free cash flow increased 111%. The combined company also carried $21.1 billion of debt at quarter-end.
Why it matters
The acquired business represented about 18% of first-quarter gross revenue and 32% of total assets, while its internal controls remained outside management's effectiveness assessment.
What the board should do
The highest near-term priority is to condition broader AI-agent availability on system-level assurance while completing the acquired-business control perimeter.
Decision signals

The five issues that carry the decision.

Direction, board relevance, and source health stay visible without reducing the analysis to an unexplained status color.

Operating signalImproving
Observed

First-quarter growth and cash conversion exceeded the prior-year pace.

Revenue reached $3.3 billion, adjusted EPS increased 12%, and free cash flow increased 111%. The board must now separate acquired growth from durable pro forma execution.

Materiality
Selected for the decision brief
Board relevance
Operating and market performance
Evidence health
1 linked, 0 primary · reviewed 2026-07-30
Integration signalWatch
Inferred

The issuing acquisition changed both the debt load and the control perimeter.

The acquired business represented about 18% of first-quarter gross revenue and 32% of total assets, while its internal controls remained outside management's effectiveness assessment.

Materiality
Selected for the decision brief
Board relevance
Risk and capital decisions
Evidence health
1 linked, 1 primary · reviewed 2026-07-30
Vote signalAdverse
Inferred

Executive compensation drew 29.36% opposition.

The result passed but is a material engagement signal. The compensation committee should document what it heard, what changed, and what did not.

Materiality
Selected for the decision brief
Board relevance
Board and committee oversight
Evidence health
2 linked, 2 primary · reviewed 2026-07-30
AI governance signalWatch
Inferred

FIS discloses governance architecture, but not system-level assurance results.

The Financial Crimes AI Agent is intended for regulated investigative workflows. Public evidence does not show its evaluation thresholds, incident metrics, model-change controls, or independent assurance results.

Materiality
Selected for the decision brief
Board relevance
AI accountability and controls
Evidence health
3 linked, 1 primary · reviewed 2026-07-30
Control transitionWatch
Inferred

Chief legal officer and corporate secretary responsibilities changed on July 1.

The appointment of a former chief compliance officer supports continuity, but the board should close the documented handoff across litigation, disclosure, and AI-regulatory responsibilities.

Materiality
Selected for the decision brief
Board relevance
Board and committee oversight
Evidence health
2 linked, 2 primary · reviewed 2026-07-30
Earnings call intelligence

FIS reported Q1 adjusted EPS of $1.36 and revenue of $3.30 billion, both above the dated provider estimates.

The first-quarter beat and reiterated outlook support the near-term earnings case. The next catalyst is the scheduled August 4 second-quarter update.

Next earnings
Not confirmed
AI narrative
30 direct mentions in the reviewed call
Analyst scrutiny
Analyst actions, ratings, and targets are dated provider snapshots observed July 30, 2026. They can change without notice and are not investment recommendations from Alpha.
Open preparation items
8
Commitments due
Structured status history unavailable
Board agenda preview

Decisions requiring ownership and evidence.

Open the complete board agenda
Not available

Board action tracking is unavailable

The current public report does not contain structured decisions with owners and triggers. Alpha has not inferred them.

Key exhibits

Evidence that opens into the analysis.

Each exhibit links to its owning destination. Exact values and source paths remain attached.

Market gapObserved

FIS underperformed the S&P 500 by about 55 percentage points

S&P 500
+15.0%
FIS
-40.1%

Same-provider adjusted closes show FIS at -40.1% for the year through July 29, while the S&P 500 gained 15.0%. The gap is a market outcome, not proof of one investor thesis.

Proxy voteObserved

Compensation opposition was much higher than director opposition

Say-on-pay opposition
29.36%
Highest director opposition
5.60%

Say-on-pay opposition was 29.36% of votes cast for or against. Gary Lauer had the highest director opposition at 5.60% using the same denominator method.

ValuationObserved

FIS trades near the selected-peer infrastructure median

ACIW
18.04x
JKHY
16.17x
Selected-peer median
14.19x
FIS
13.48x

The July 30 Yahoo snapshot places FIS at 13.48x trailing EV / EBITDA, 5.0% below the 14.19x median of GPN, JKHY, BR, and ACIW. This is a screening set, not a claim of operating equivalence.

AI controlsInferred

Public evidence is strongest at the policy and workflow-design layers

Board and enterprise oversight
Disclosed
Human decision authority
Disclosed
System inventory and risk tiers
Not public
Evaluation and incident results
Not public

FIS discloses board oversight, a risk-based framework, named leaders, controlled infrastructure, traceability, human decision authority, and employment-AI consent. Public system inventories, evaluation thresholds, incident metrics, and model-change tests remain unavailable.

2 / 9

Performance

FIS performance, expectations, and operating context.

Operating results, market performance, valuation, risk, and expectations.

Live provider data

Price, returns, benchmarks, and risk.

Exact dated series are shown when verified. Unavailable provider values are never substituted.

Not available

Market performance is being verified

The live provider has not returned a complete snapshot. No values were substituted.

Verifying live company and market data…

Operating frame / Q1 2026

Acquired scale and organic execution both contributed to growth.

FIS reported $3.3 billion of revenue, up 30% on a GAAP basis and 6.5% on a pro forma basis. Adjusted EPS increased 12% to $1.36, and free cash flow more than doubled to $474 million.

Open detailed analysis and evidence3 findings
Revenue
$3.3B+30% GAAP
Pro forma growth
+6.5%Company-adjusted basis
Adjusted EPS
$1.36+12%
Free cash flow
$474M+111%
ObservedObserved

Management reiterated the 2026 outlook.

FIS expects adjusted revenue growth of 30% to 31%, adjusted EBITDA growth of 34% to 35%, adjusted EPS growth of 8% to 10%, and free cash flow of $2.05 billion to $2.15 billion.

ObservedObserved

The acquired issuing business is already financially material.

The acquired business represented about 18% of first-quarter gross revenue and 32% of total assets. Management used the acquisition-year allowance to exclude its internal controls from the first-quarter effectiveness assessment while integration continued.

ObservedObserved

Debt rose after the transaction.

Long-term debt including the current portion increased from $10.35 billion at year-end to $16.89 billion at March 31, a 63.2% increase. Short-term borrowings were $4.16 billion.

Alpha takeaway

The first quarter supports the growth case. Integration milestones and cash conversion must now carry more weight because the transaction materially changed the balance sheet.

Valuation / July 30 provider snapshot

The share-price drawdown is larger than the same-provider multiple discount.

FIS traded around $45.82 intraday after a $46.81 prior close. The provider reported a $23.7 billion market value, an 8.88x trailing P/E, and 13.48x trailing EV / EBITDA.

Open detailed analysis and evidence3 findings · 1 data table
Prior close
$46.81July 29
Market value
$23.7BProvider snapshot
EV / EBITDA
13.48xProvider snapshot
Peer discount
-5.0%Selected-peer median
CalculatedObserved

FIS screens slightly below the selected-peer median.

FIS at 13.48x is 5.0% below the 14.19x median of Global Payments, Jack Henry, Broadridge, and ACI Worldwide using one provider and one observation time.

ObservedObserved

Provider targets imply upside but remain widely dispersed.

The Yahoo snapshot showed a $56.55 mean target, $55 median, $37 low, and $85 high across 22 opinions. The mean is 20.8% above the July 29 close, but it is not a guaranteed outcome.

Selected fintech-infrastructure valuation comparison
CompanyTickerTrailing EV / EBITDARole
ACI WorldwideACIW18.04xPayments software
Jack HenryJKHY16.17xBank technology
FISFIS13.48xSubject company
BroadridgeBR12.21xFinancial infrastructure
Global PaymentsGPN10.91xPayments technology

The selected-peer median excluding FIS is 14.19x. Provider definitions can differ; this table uses one dated provider snapshot.

Alpha takeaway

The 5.0% EV / EBITDA discount to the selected-peer median is modest relative to the 40.1% one-year total-return decline. Debt, integration, and execution therefore matter more than a simple multiple-reversion claim.

Decision exhibits

Market evidence in comparable form.

Verified report visuals keep the benchmark, exact values, interpretation, and source path together.

Market gapObserved

FIS underperformed the S&P 500 by about 55 percentage points

Why it matters: Same-provider adjusted closes show FIS at -40.1% for the year through July 29, while the S&P 500 gained 15.0%. The gap is a market outcome, not proof of one investor thesis.

View chart data and evidence
Accessible data for FIS underperformed the S&P 500 by about 55 percentage points
ObservationValue
S&P 500+15.0%
FIS-40.1%
ValuationObserved

FIS trades near the selected-peer infrastructure median

Why it matters: The July 30 Yahoo snapshot places FIS at 13.48x trailing EV / EBITDA, 5.0% below the 14.19x median of GPN, JKHY, BR, and ACIW. This is a screening set, not a claim of operating equivalence.

View chart data and evidence
Accessible data for FIS trades near the selected-peer infrastructure median
ObservationValue
ACIW18.04x
JKHY16.17x
Selected-peer median14.19x
FIS13.48x
BR12.21x
GPN10.91x

Risk / integration, litigation, cyber, and market expectations

Integration control is the risk that links the operating and governance cases.

The acquired business is material, debt is higher, and management's first-quarter control assessment excludes the acquired perimeter. FIS also carries disclosed litigation and technology risks.

Open detailed analysis and evidence3 findings
Acquired revenue share
~18%Q1 gross revenue
Acquired asset share
~32%March 31 assets
Debt increase
+63.2%Long-term debt
Debt rate
4.2%Weighted average
ObservedObserved

Control integration remains in progress.

FIS disclosed that the acquired business was excluded from management's first-quarter internal-control effectiveness assessment under acquisition-year guidance. That is permitted, but the size of the acquired perimeter makes the completion date decision-useful.

ObservedObserved

Former merchant-business litigation remains a monitored matter.

The 2025 Form 10-K describes securities and derivative litigation tied to the former Merchant Solutions business and a settlement that received preliminary approval in February 2026.

ObservedObserved

The disclosed cyber program is mature at the enterprise level.

FIS describes a 24-hour Fusion Center, layered defenses, third-party reviews, and no identified material cyber incident as of the 2025 filing. Public evidence does not establish combined-company or AI-system assurance.

Alpha takeaway

The board should require a dated integration-control plan, debt and cash thresholds, litigation oversight, and evidence that cyber and AI controls cover the combined business.

Provider consensus

BuyYahoo snapshotConstructive

Analyst opinions

22Yahoo target setDated count

Average target

$56.55$37 to $85 rangeWide dispersion

Short / float

4.0%2.96 days to coverModerate
Consensus sources and methodology

Observable company and ownership signals

Observable market signals

Target dispersion

$37 to $85The $56.55 mean target is 20.8% above the July 29 close, but the wide range shows materially different views of integration and earnings durability.
Source and context
3 / 9

Earnings Call Intelligence

Prepare the board for the next call.

Latest call, management narrative, disclosure signals, and market interpretation.

This section separates filed results and company guidance from dated secondary-provider estimates. It shows where expectations are constructive and where the market remains cautious.

Earnings analysis separates management statements, observable disclosure signals, and Alpha interpretation. Predictive language is calibrated and unsupported histories are omitted.

Earnings update · 2026-05-08

Latest reported quarter

FIS reported Q1 adjusted EPS of $1.36 and revenue of $3.30 billion, both above the dated provider estimates.

What changed, what the market heard, and what remains open · July 30, 2026

Executive Intelligence Brief

Findings separate observed evidence from Alpha interpretation. Analyst profiles summarize sourced participation and topics without assigning personality, motive, or private relationship labels.

Likely market hearing

A strong operating start has not resolved the rerating debate.

The provider consensus is Buy and the mean target was 20.8% above the July 29 close, while the $37 to $85 target range and one-year underperformance show materially different views of integration and earnings durability.
Source and context

Governance implication

The governance narrative is specific; operating assurance remains incomplete.

FIS names committee oversight, a risk-based framework, auditability, traceability, human decision authority, and regulated deployment. Public evidence does not yet show system-level test results, incident thresholds, or a complete model and vendor register.
Source and context

Disclosure velocity and investor pressure · July 30, 2026

AI Disclosure & Analyst Attention

Alpha counted case-insensitive standalone uses of “AI” and the exact phrase “artificial intelligence” in normalized visible text. Each direct occurrence counts, including hyphenated uses such as “AI-enabled.” Filing counts cover the primary SEC filing document. The call count covers the speaker transcript, separates prepared remarks from Q&A, and excludes the transcript provider's summary. An analyst question turn is included when it directly concerns a technology that management explicitly identifies as AI, even if the analyst does not use the term.

2026 proxy statement

T2
26direct mentions

Board experience, Risk and Technology Committee oversight, enterprise risk, strategy, and engagement language

Source and context

2025 Form 10-K

T2
44direct mentions

Product strategy, competition, operational use, third parties, regulation, cybersecurity, and risk factors

Source and context

Q1 2026 Form 10-Q

T2
6direct mentions

Forward-looking, integration, technology, regulatory, and risk language

Source and context

Inside the earnings call

Who drove the AI conversation?

Prepared remarks
17
Q&A
13
Analyst mentions
5
Management in Q&A
8

Analysts made 5 direct AI mentions across 5 question turns from 5 covering analysts.

Source and context

Wall Street attention

What analysts asked about

Dan DolevMizuho
1 mentions

Why the Anthropic partnership is differentiated, whether an AI partner could disintermediate FIS, when agents reach market, and when revenue enters the outlook.

Tien-Tsin HuangJPMorgan
1 mentions

Whether AI discovery and pilots are constraining bank technology budgets and whether banks want FIS to build and operate agents for them.

Jason KupferbergWells Fargo
0 mentions

Anthropic go-to-market economics, resource commitments, forward-deployed engineers, token economics, and knowledge transfer.

Andrew SchmidtKeyBanc
1 mentions

AI-driven product velocity, engineering productivity, operating-model changes, and internal workflow improvement.

Timothy ChiodoUBS
2 mentions

Whether AI can reduce core-switching cost and weaken or expand the value of FIS's installed-base moat.

Source and context

Observed

The 2025 Form 10-K contains 44 direct AI references, the 2026 proxy contains 26, and the Q1 call contains 30. Five direct analyst references appear across four questioners, with a fifth analyst asking about Anthropic and agent economics without using the term AI.

Alpha inference

Formal disclosure and earnings-call attention are both material. Analysts are no longer treating AI only as a risk topic; they are testing differentiation, monetization, operating productivity, client ownership, and potential erosion of the core-processing moat.

Governance and next-call implication

The board should connect the Risk and Technology Committee mandate to system-level evidence: risk tiers, named owners, validation outcomes, human authority, audit logs, incident escalation, vendor and model dependencies, and commercialization gates.

Management ground truth

Management Signal Map

Financial performance

explicit
What management said

Management described Q1 as strong across revenue, margin, cash flow, and recurring ACV.

Evidence

Pro forma revenue increased 6.5%, margin expanded 87 basis points, adjusted EPS increased 12.4%, and free cash flow reached $474 million.

Tone shift

The call moved from transformation framing toward operating acceleration and commercial validation.

Still unresolved

The market still needs a clean bridge from acquired revenue and license timing to durable organic growth.

Source and context

Forward guidance

explicit
What management said

FIS reiterated full-year guidance and described Banking as tracking toward the high end and Capital Markets toward the low end.

Evidence

The outlook calls for 5.1% to 5.7% pro forma revenue growth, 95 to 110 basis points of margin expansion, and 8% to 10% adjusted EPS growth.

Tone shift

Confidence strengthened on Banking, margins, and cash flow while lending assumptions became more conservative.

Still unresolved

The second-half contribution from recurring sales and the duration of lending softness remain unproven.

Source and context

Strategic priorities

explicit
What management said

Management positioned AI, governed data, digital assets, and the combined debit-credit-core footprint as the next growth platform.

Evidence

The call identified Anthropic co-development, a financial-crimes agent, the FIS data and AI platform, Lyriq, Project Keystone, and five participating U.S. banks.

Tone shift

AI moved from risk and capability disclosure into a named product, distribution, and architecture narrative.

Still unresolved

No 2026 agent revenue is included in guidance, and pricing, unit economics, validation gates, and adoption milestones remain undisclosed.

Source and context

Risk disclosure

implicit
What management said

Management emphasized regulated deployment, testing, human control, transparency, and auditability.

Evidence

The call said the financial-crimes agent must be tested deeply for exact compliance outcomes, while the product release keeps investigators in control.

Tone shift

Control language became more operational, but still stopped short of test results or incident evidence.

Still unresolved

The record does not identify acceptance thresholds, failure modes, red-team results, customer remedies, or regulator review.

Source and context

Capital allocation

explicit
What management said

Management prioritized deleveraging toward 2.8x before meaningfully increasing capital returns.

Evidence

Quarter-end debt was $21.1 billion, the leverage ratio was 3.6x, and $260 million was returned primarily through dividends.

Tone shift

The capital-return frame is now explicitly conditioned on acquisition integration and debt reduction.

Still unresolved

The company has not published quarterly debt, synergy, and repurchase gates in one reconciled scorecard.

Source and context

Attributed interpretation

Market Narrative Synthesis

1

Market hearingstrong evidence

The operating reset is real; durability is the debate.

The stronger quarter supports management's acceleration case, but one quarter does not settle the integration and organic-growth question.
Support
Revenue, margin, EPS, cash flow, and recurring ACV all improved, with both operating segments above the stated Q1 outlook.
What weakens it
The combined-company comparable base, license timing, and Capital Markets lending pressure make the forward bridge less clean.
Source and context
2

Market hearingmoderate evidence

Recurring ACV is the leading proof point.

If the 24% recurring ACV increase converts on schedule, current growth can become more durable and less dependent on licenses.
Support
Banking recurring ACV increased 13%, Capital Markets increased 45%, lending increased 63%, and digital increased 25%.
What weakens it
Contract conversion timing, implementation capacity, retention, and incremental margin are not reported at the same level of detail.
Source and context
3

Market hearingmoderate evidence

AI can strengthen the moat, but the economics are not yet model-ready.

FIS may convert regulated infrastructure and distribution into a differentiated agent platform.
Support
FIS owns the agents and distribution, named two design partners, and expects initial deployment in the second half of 2026.
What weakens it
No 2026 revenue is in guidance, and pricing, resource commitment, accuracy thresholds, and customer conversion are not quantified.
Source and context
4

Market hearingstrong evidence

Integration and deleveraging govern the capital-return path.

Synergy delivery and debt reduction must arrive before the balance-sheet and repurchase narrative can improve.
Support
Management expects $30 million to $40 million of 2026 cost synergies and conditions larger capital returns on reaching 2.8x leverage.
What weakens it
Only $1 million of cost synergy was recognized in Q1, with most 2026 delivery expected in the second half.
Source and context
5

Market hearingmoderate evidence

Governance credibility depends on visible operating evidence.

Committee mandates and control language are constructive, but assurance and the response to 29.36% say-on-pay opposition remain practical tests.
Support
The proxy assigns AI oversight, the product record names human control and auditability, and the annual meeting supplies a clear compensation signal.
What weakens it
System-level test results and the board's post-vote engagement response are not yet public.
Source and context

Evidence discipline

Signal vs. Perception Gap Analysis

Signal vs. perception

Headline growth versus recurring quality

medium gap
What was said

Q1 pro forma revenue increased 6.5% and recurring ACV increased 24%.

What was heard

The revenue trajectory is accelerating and commercial momentum is durable.

Interpretation risk

License timing, acquired revenue, lending softness, and implementation timing can separate ACV growth from reported recurring revenue.

Mispriced opportunity

Publish an ACV-to-revenue bridge by segment with implementation timing, retention, and margin conversion.

Source and context

Signal vs. perception

AI platform ambition versus model-ready economics

high gap
What was said

FIS owns and distributes the agents, expects initial deployment in the second half, and expects revenue to take shape in 2027.

What was heard

The Anthropic partnership can become a material new growth platform.

Interpretation risk

No 2026 agent revenue is included in guidance, and pricing, adoption, validation, and cost-to-serve are not quantified.

Mispriced opportunity

Disclose deployment gates, customer cohorts, pricing logic, token and engineering economics, validation thresholds, and recurring-revenue milestones.

Source and context

Signal vs. perception

Trust-by-design language versus system-level assurance

high gap
What was said

Management described governed data, auditability, traceability, transparency, testing, and investigators remaining in control.

What was heard

The regulated deployment risk is already contained.

Interpretation risk

Control descriptions do not prove that tests, human escalation, monitoring, and customer remedies operate as intended.

Mispriced opportunity

Publish a system card with risk tier, intended use, data boundary, test outcomes, human authority, incident process, and independent assurance.

Source and context

Signal vs. perception

Integration confidence versus delivered synergies

medium gap
What was said

Customer reaction is positive and the long-term cost and revenue synergy targets remain intact.

What was heard

The strategic fit is established and execution risk is declining.

Interpretation risk

Only $1 million of cost synergy was recognized in Q1, and large-bank sales cycles delay revenue-synergy evidence.

Mispriced opportunity

Report quarterly cost, revenue, retention, conversion, control-remediation, and service-level milestones against the acquisition case.

Source and context

Signal vs. perception

Provider target upside versus market underperformance

medium gap
What was said

The dated provider mean target was $56.55 against a July 29 close of $46.81.

What was heard

The stock offers material upside if management delivers.

Interpretation risk

A broad $37 to $85 range and one-year underperformance can encode integration, leverage, competition, and governance risk rather than simple mispricing.

Mispriced opportunity

Tie the rerating case to recurring conversion, synergy delivery, deleveraging, AI commercialization, and control-assurance milestones.

Source and context
Not available

Longitudinal narrative trajectory is unavailable

The public evidence contains one reviewed earnings-call period. Alpha shows current themes but does not infer a multi-period trajectory.

Not available

Commitment follow-through is not yet tracked

The current report does not contain a structured history of management commitments, due dates, and later status. No completion state is inferred.

4 / 9

Wall Street Analysts

How analysts frame the company and where they will press next.

Coverage actions, persona analysis, thesis history, and next-call pressure tests.

Wall Street evidence is a dated public record of published recommendations, target actions, and call participation. Alpha adds source-linked interpretation to show what each analyst prioritizes and where the thesis may be tested next.

Sourced analyst facts remain attributed to the public record. Persona labels are Alpha interpretations of observable questioning posture and published stance, not psychological profiles, private motives, or relationship judgments.

Revision trend

Price-target range versus the July 29 close

  1. Low target$37
  2. July 29 close$46.81
  3. Median target$55
  4. Mean target$56.55
  5. High target$85

The target range spans downside from the July 29 close through substantial upside. That dispersion makes the August operating update and integration evidence more important than the mean alone.

Mean target upside+20.8%
Source and context

Alpha Intelligence

Alpha Market Interpretation

Alpha Intelligence capability

Governed public-market interpretation

Alpha structures source-linked market evidence into decision-useful signals. This published snapshot is fixed at the report evidence cutoff.
Engine
Alpha Intelligence
Model
alpha-market-interpretation-v1
Evidence cutoff
2026-07-30
Release state
publishable
Review state
evidence verified

Coverage composition

10 public analyst lenses10 firms, 5 dated actions, and 7 linked evidence records define the observable coverage set.

Thesis convergence

5 evidence-linked theses5 partially confirmed

Revision frontier

3 next-call pressure tests
  1. AI commercializationHow many financial-crimes agent deployments have entered production, what customer and pricing model applies, and what recurring revenue is contracted for 2027?
  2. System-level AI assuranceWhat accuracy, false-positive, auditability, human-escalation, and regulatory acceptance thresholds must the financial-crimes agent clear before broader release?
  3. Integration deliveryHow much TSYS cost synergy was realized in Q2, what remains for the second half, and which signed cross-sell opportunities support the 2027 revenue-synergy bridge?

Evidence gaps

Public evidence only
  • The capability uses public, source-linked evidence through the stated cutoff. It does not infer private analyst intent or communications.
  • Analyst lenses describe questioning behavior in cited public records. They are not psychological profiles or relationship judgments.
  • Historical accuracy remains unscored without a reproducible recommendation and outcome series.

Governance implications

Evidence quality routes the next review
Transparency
moderate
Completeness
partial
Credibility
improving
Market Interpretation can trigger an evidence review. It does not alter AGR or GEH.

Observable actions

Covering Analysts and Latest Actions

FirmAnalystLatest stanceLatest actionPrice targetWhy it matters
Truist SecuritiesMatthew CoadHoldLowered target$43The latest action in the provider snapshot placed the target below the July 29 close.
BarclaysNik CremoHoldReiterated$44Maintains a cautious view immediately before the second-quarter update.
BernsteinHarshita RawatHoldReiterated$73A neutral stance paired with a much higher target illustrates the dispersion in public views.
Morgan StanleyJames FaucetteEqualweightInitiated$47Sets a near-market reference point for the integration case.
Wells FargoJason KupferbergBuyReiterated$67Represents a more constructive post-acquisition view.

Analyst actions, ratings, and targets are dated provider snapshots observed July 30, 2026. They can change without notice and are not investment recommendations from Alpha.

Alpha analysis of sourced public participation and stated views

Analyst Persona Analysis

Each persona is Alpha's evidence-bound interpretation of the analyst's public call participation and published stance as of the report cutoff. It is not a psychological profile, statement of private motive, or relationship judgment.

Mizuho

Dan Dolev

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Event-Driven AnalystQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Anthropic differentiation, partner disintermediation risk, agent launch timing, and revenue contribution.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Catalyst-led and two-stage, testing both strategic defensibility and near-term monetization.
Priority KPIs
Agent deployments · Agent revenue · Customer adoption · Partner economics
Topics that prompted follow-up
Partner dependence · Delayed deployment · No revenue bridge
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

Cantor Fitzgerald

Ramsey El-Assal

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Fundamental SkepticQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Capital Markets lending pressure and the competitive effect of Pismo in core and issuing.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Diagnostic and competitor-specific, moving from macro pressure to product substitution risk.
Priority KPIs
Capital Markets recurring growth · Lending volumes · Core wins · Renewals
Topics that prompted follow-up
Debt-issuance weakness · Pismo wins · Renewal pressure
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

JPMorgan

Tien-Tsin Huang

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Structural BullQuestioning: constructivehigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Bank technology budgets, client demand, combined-platform positioning, and agent operating models.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Client-demand oriented and strategic, testing whether management's platform thesis matches purchasing behavior.
Priority KPIs
Bank technology budgets · Cross-sell · Agent adoption · Core wins
Topics that prompted follow-up
Budget paralysis · Weak cross-sell · Clients insource agents
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

Wolfe Research

Darrin Peller

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Fundamental SkepticQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
TSYS synergies, debit-credit-core cross-sell, recurring-revenue quality, and the forward guide.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Bridge-focused, asking management to reconcile the acquisition case with recurring growth.
Priority KPIs
Cost synergies · Revenue synergies · Recurring growth · ACV conversion
Topics that prompted follow-up
Second-half synergy delay · License dependence · Capital Markets slowdown
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

Goldman Sachs

William Nance

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Event-Driven AnalystQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Tokenized deposits, stablecoin positioning, Project Keystone, and the durability of nonrecurring revenue.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Strategic-to-numerical, pairing industry structure with revenue sustainability.
Priority KPIs
Keystone banks · Digital-asset revenue · Recurring mix · Distributor sales
Topics that prompted follow-up
Weak digital-asset use cases · 2027 grow-over · Nonrecurring concentration
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

Oppenheimer

Rayna Kumar

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Fundamental SkepticQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Competitive intensity, RFP activity, and new entrants beyond the largest peers.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Market-structure focused, looking for changes in competitive intensity and participant mix.
Priority KPIs
RFP volume · Win rate · Retention · Competitive displacement
Topics that prompted follow-up
New entrants · Core attrition · Pricing pressure
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

Wells Fargo

Jason Kupferberg

Public analyst record
Stance: BullAlpha lens: Tactical BullQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Anthropic go-to-market economics, resource commitment, knowledge transfer, and segment growth mix.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Constructive but economics-focused, testing the resources and unit model behind the partnership.
Priority KPIs
Agent pricing · Token economics · FDE capacity · Payments recurring growth
Topics that prompted follow-up
Unfavorable partner economics · Under-resourced build · Payments slowdown
Historical record
Not scored: the public Buy snapshot is not a complete recommendation and outcome history.
Source and context

KeyBanc

Andrew Schmidt

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Structural BullQuestioning: constructivehigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
AI-driven product velocity, engineering productivity, operating leverage, and bank M&A.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Opportunity-seeking and operational, connecting technology adoption to product and process outcomes.
Priority KPIs
Developer productivity · Release velocity · Cost-to-serve · Bank conversions
Topics that prompted follow-up
Product delays · No measurable productivity · Slower bank M&A
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

TD Cowen

Bryan Bergin

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Fundamental SkepticQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Pricing power, ACV quality, the Q1-to-Q2 bridge, and second-half recurring acceleration.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Model-oriented, pressing for segment bridges and the source of recurring acceleration.
Priority KPIs
Price realization · Recurring growth · ACV conversion · Segment guide
Topics that prompted follow-up
Flat pricing · Weak conversion · Second-half guide risk
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

UBS

Timothy Chiodo

Public analyst record
Stance: UnscoredAlpha lens: Fundamental SkepticQuestioning: probinghigh evidence confidence
Primary thesis driver
Whether AI changes core-switching cost, installed-base stickiness, implementation speed, and pricing.
Evidence-bound analyst lens
Moat-focused and counterfactual, testing whether AI changes the industry's switching-cost structure.
Priority KPIs
Core retention · Conversion time · Implementation cost · Pricing
Topics that prompted follow-up
AI-enabled displacement · Faster competitor conversion · Pricing rollover
Historical record
Not scored: no complete public recommendation and outcome series.
Source and context

Stated thesis versus execution evidence

Analyst Thesis and Question History

Mizuho

Dan Dolev

Partially Confirmedunresolved
Analyst thesis
The Anthropic partnership is valuable only if FIS preserves distribution control and converts deployments into visible revenue.
Management said
FIS owns the agents, IP, and distribution; Anthropic is paid through token usage, deployment starts in the second half, and revenue should take shape in 2027.
Execution evidence
Two design partners and a first financial-crimes use case are named, but no 2026 revenue is included in guidance.

Strategic control is explicit. Commercial scale, economics, and the timing of recurring revenue remain the next proof points.

Source and context

JPMorgan

Tien-Tsin Huang

Partially Confirmedwinning
Analyst thesis
Healthy bank budgets and demand for outsourced regulated agents can expand FIS's role across the client technology stack.
Management said
Technology budgets are strong, regional and community banks cannot fund frontier-AI partnerships alone, and clients want FIS to deploy agents for them.
Execution evidence
Money Movement Hub ACV tripled and digital ACV increased 25%, but agent adoption and revenue are not yet reported.

The demand signal is constructive; the agent thesis still needs signed deployments, pricing, and retention evidence.

Source and context

Wolfe Research

Darrin Peller

Partially Confirmedcontested
Analyst thesis
TSYS can improve the combined growth mix if cost synergies arrive and debit-credit-core cross-sell converts into recurring revenue.
Management said
Customer response is positive, cost synergies should reach $30 million to $40 million in 2026, and revenue synergies should build in 2027 and 2028.
Execution evidence
Only $1 million of cost synergy was recognized in Q1, while recurring ACV increased 24%.

Commercial momentum supports the thesis, but second-half synergy delivery and recurring conversion remain material execution tests.

Source and context

Wells Fargo

Jason Kupferberg

Partially Confirmedcontested
Analyst thesis
The constructive case depends on favorable agent economics and durable payments and Banking growth.
Management said
FIS will price the agents, Anthropic participates through token usage, and payments should outpace the rest of Banking on recurring growth.
Execution evidence
Banking pro forma revenue increased 7.7% and payments increased 5.9%; agent pricing remains under development.

The operating base is constructive, while the new AI economics are not yet sufficient to support a separate earnings contribution.

Source and context

UBS

Timothy Chiodo

Partially Confirmedunresolved
Analyst thesis
AI may accelerate core conversions without eliminating the regulatory and integration complexity that protects incumbent processors.
Management said
FIS already uses AI to make conversions faster but does not see a complete AI-enabled core eliminating switching cost.
Execution evidence
The company cited integration across core, debit, card production, print and mail, money movement, and regulated state and federal requirements.

Implementation speed can improve for both FIS and competitors. Retention, conversion time, and win-rate evidence will show whether the moat strengthens or narrows.

Source and context

Forward pressure test

Revision Frontier

1

Potential confirmation topic

How many financial-crimes agent deployments have entered production, what customer and pricing model applies, and what recurring revenue is contracted for 2027?

Pressure point
AI commercialization
Possible asker
Dan Dolev or Jason Kupferberg
Both analysts focused on partnership defensibility, agent economics, deployment timing, and revenue contribution.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
2

Unresolved risk topic

What accuracy, false-positive, auditability, human-escalation, and regulatory acceptance thresholds must the financial-crimes agent clear before broader release?

Pressure point
System-level AI assurance
Possible asker
Governance- or risk-focused analyst
Management emphasized deep testing and exact regulatory outcomes but did not disclose acceptance metrics or results.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
3

Alpha-recommended question

How much TSYS cost synergy was realized in Q2, what remains for the second half, and which signed cross-sell opportunities support the 2027 revenue-synergy bridge?

Pressure point
Integration delivery
Possible asker
Darrin Peller
The first quarter contained only $1 million of cost synergy and management weighted delivery to the second half.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
4

Potential confirmation topic

How did the 24% recurring ACV growth convert into Q2 recurring revenue by segment, and what portion remains in implementation?

Pressure point
Recurring revenue quality
Possible asker
Bryan Bergin or Darrin Peller
Both analysts pressed on the recurring bridge and the basis for second-half acceleration.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
5

Unresolved risk topic

Did lending softness remain a 50-basis-point Q2 headwind, and what debt-issuance or backlog evidence supports the projected Capital Markets acceleration?

Pressure point
Capital Markets lending
Possible asker
Ramsey El-Assal
The call identified loan syndication and debt issuance as the specific source of the recurring-growth pressure.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
6

Potential confirmation topic

How many banks have committed to Project Keystone, which tokenized-deposit use cases are live, and what economics accrue to FIS?

Pressure point
Digital-asset adoption
Possible asker
William Nance
The analyst tested the use case, banking-system value, and relationship to stablecoins.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
7

Alpha-recommended question

What measured engineering, release-cycle, client-service, or cost-to-serve improvements can be attributed to Copilot and Anthropic knowledge transfer?

Pressure point
Internal AI productivity
Possible asker
Andrew Schmidt
Management described significant productivity lifts but did not disclose a baseline, measurement method, or economic conversion.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context
8

Alpha-recommended question

What quarterly debt, leverage, cash-conversion, and integration thresholds govern the return to larger share repurchases?

Pressure point
Deleveraging and capital returns
Possible asker
Finance-focused covering analyst
Management conditioned meaningfully higher capital returns on reaching the 2.8x leverage target.Calibrated possibility, not a prediction.
Source and context

Decision use

Governance Implications

For management

For investors

Transparency quality

moderateFIS discloses board oversight, enterprise risk framing, named AI architecture, human authority, auditability, and a deployment timeline, but not system-level validation outcomes.

Disclosure completeness

partialThe record covers strategy, use cases, risk, governance, and commercialization direction. It does not show a complete inventory, risk tiers, test results, incident metrics, or model and vendor dependencies.

Credibility trajectory

improvingThe Q1 call materially increased specificity on ownership, regulated architecture, design partners, human control, and timing. Credibility now depends on production evidence and reconciled economic milestones.
5 / 9

Ownership

Shareholder structure, influence, and engagement opportunities.

Control, institutional holders, concentration, and shareholder opportunities.

Ownership / current primary filings

The register supports holder-level engagement, not an additive concentration claim.

Dodge & Cox reported 9.5% at year-end, Vanguard Capital Management reported 7.54% at March 31, and JPMorgan reported 5.2% at June 30.

Open detailed analysis and evidence2 findings · 1 data table
Dodge & Cox
9.5%Dec. 31, 2025
Vanguard Capital Mgmt.
7.54%Mar. 31, 2026
JPMorgan Chase
5.2%Jun. 30, 2026
Current primary ownership filings used in this report
HolderPercentPosition dateFiling date
Dodge & Cox9.5%Dec. 31, 2025Feb. 13, 2026
Vanguard Capital Management7.54%Mar. 31, 2026Apr. 29, 2026
JPMorgan Chase5.2%Jun. 30, 2026Jul. 27, 2026

Percentages must not be summed. Each filing uses its own record date and beneficial-ownership method.

Alpha takeaway

Use the three filings as engagement priorities. Do not sum them into one synchronized ownership total because dates and reporting entities differ.

Shareholder opportunities

Current filers are actionable; peer-holder whitespace is not yet verified.

A defensible targeting screen requires same-quarter Form 13F holdings across a defined peer set. That normalized dataset is not included in this report.

Open detailed analysis and evidence2 findings
ObservedObserved

FIS offered engagement to holders representing more than 40% of shares.

The proxy describes a broad shareholder-engagement program. The next disclosure should connect compensation feedback and board action without attributing views to unnamed investors.

Alpha takeaway

Begin with the current primary filers and shareholder-engagement record. Do not infer an investor's intent from position size alone.

Ownership exhibits

Concentration and influence at a glance.

The chart uses the same evidence-linked observations as the ownership analysis and exposes its underlying data.

OwnershipObserved

Three current primary filings define the engagement starting point

Why it matters: Dodge & Cox, Vanguard Capital Management, and JPMorgan reported positions on different dates. Percentages must not be summed as one synchronized register.

View chart data and evidence
Accessible data for Three current primary filings define the engagement starting point
ObservationValue
Dodge & Cox9.5%
Vanguard Capital Management7.54%
JPMorgan Chase5.2%
6 / 9

Governance

Board composition, accountability, and voting pressure.

Board composition, committee accountability, proxy evidence, and governance risk.

Governance / 2026 proxy

The oversight structure is independent and explicitly covers AI.

Eight of nine nominees were independent. The board had an independent chair, fully independent standing committees, and explicit board and Risk and Technology Committee responsibility for AI.

Open detailed analysis and evidence3 findings
Independent nominees
8 of 92026 proxy
Director attendance
>89%Each director
AI oversight
ExplicitBoard and Risk & Technology
ObservedObserved

Independence and attendance thresholds are well disclosed.

The proxy identifies eight of nine nominees as independent, an independent chair, fully independent committees, and attendance above 89% for each director.

ObservedObserved

AI is inside the formal risk mandate.

The full board and the Risk and Technology Committee oversee AI. Anil Chakravarthy adds disclosed experience with AI-powered enterprise solutions and transformation.

ObservedObserved

The legal leadership transition preserves compliance experience.

Chip Keller, previously chief compliance officer and corporate secretary, became chief legal officer and corporate secretary on July 1 after Caroline Tsai stepped down.

Alpha takeaway

The structure is clear. The next proof point is whether committee materials connect acquisition controls, cyber assurance, AI testing, and the legal-function transition.

Proxy / June 10, 2026 annual meeting

Director support remained high; compensation support did not.

All nine nominees were elected and the auditor was ratified. The compensation advisory vote received 301.7 million votes for and 125.4 million against.

Open detailed analysis and evidence2 findings · 1 data table
Say-on-pay against
29.36%For plus against denominator
Highest director against
5.60%Gary Lauer
Directors elected
9 of 9Annual meeting
CalculatedObserved

Nearly three in ten compensation votes opposed the proposal.

The calculation uses votes cast for or against and excludes abstentions and broker non-votes. It is a governance signal, not evidence of a unified shareholder rationale.

ObservedObserved

Director elections did not show comparable dissent.

Gary Lauer received the highest opposition among nominees at 5.60% of votes cast for or against. Every nominee was elected.

Selected 2026 annual-meeting results
ItemForAgainstCalculated opposition
Advisory compensation301,711,970125,371,57629.36%
Gary A. Lauer403,656,39223,940,2865.60%
Auditor ratification438,020,54325,510,3335.50%

Opposition percentages use for plus against as the denominator.

Alpha takeaway

Treat 29.36% opposition as a board-level engagement result even though the proposal passed.

Governance exhibits

Vote pressure and the accountable response cycle.

Observed results remain separate from Alpha's inferred sequence for engagement, board response, and disclosure.

Proxy voteObserved

Compensation opposition was much higher than director opposition

Why it matters: Say-on-pay opposition was 29.36% of votes cast for or against. Gary Lauer had the highest director opposition at 5.60% using the same denominator method.

View chart data and evidence
Accessible data for Compensation opposition was much higher than director opposition
ObservationValue
Say-on-pay opposition29.36%
Highest director opposition5.60%
7 / 9

AI

AI strategy, competitive advantage, workforce, and assurance.

Competitive position, business value, workforce transformation, accountability, controls, and evidence of operating effectiveness.

AI governance / public-information gap analysis

FIS has a visible governance architecture and an invisible assurance layer.

The board and Risk and Technology Committee oversee AI. FIS describes a risk-based framework, cross-functional review, named AI-governance leadership, controlled client-data infrastructure, traceable conclusions, human decision authority, and a consent boundary for employment AI.

Open detailed analysis and evidence5 findings · 1 data table
Board mandate
DisclosedRisk & Technology
Human authority
DisclosedFinancial-crime agent
System assurance
Not publicTests and incidents
ObservedObserved

FIS is developing an agent for financial-crime investigations.

The product is being developed with BMO and Amalgamated Bank, with broader availability planned for the second half of 2026. FIS says conclusions link to sources, decisions remain with investigators, and an audit layer records activity.

ObservedObserved

The most detailed public framework description is dated.

The 2024 sustainability report remains the most detailed public AI-control description located and may not reflect later changes.

Public AI-control evidence and gaps
Control areaPublic evidenceStatusBoard request
OversightBoard and Risk & Technology remitDisclosedQuarterly system-risk dashboard
Enterprise governanceRisk-based, cross-functional frameworkDisclosed in 2024Current charter and owners
Agent workflowTraceability, audit layer, investigator authorityDesign claimPre-release evaluation results
Employment AIVendor, inputs, purpose, and consentDisclosedBias and appeal evidence
System assuranceNo public thresholds or incident metricsGapInventory, tests, changes, incidents

This is a public-evidence gap analysis, not a scored assessment or a legal compliance conclusion.

Alpha takeaway

Before broader agent availability, directors need system-level evidence for inventory, risk classification, evaluation thresholds, incidents, model and vendor changes, human override, and regulatory role mapping.

AI governance exhibits

Control evidence and disclosure gaps in comparable form.

The report shows only source-linked observations and preserves explicit unavailable states.

AI controlsInferred

Public evidence is strongest at the policy and workflow-design layers

Why it matters: FIS discloses board oversight, a risk-based framework, named leaders, controlled infrastructure, traceability, human decision authority, and employment-AI consent. Public system inventories, evaluation thresholds, incident metrics, and model-change tests remain unavailable.

View chart data and evidence
Accessible data for Public evidence is strongest at the policy and workflow-design layers
ObservationValue
Board and enterprise oversightDisclosed
Human decision authorityDisclosed
System inventory and risk tiersNot public
Evaluation and incident resultsNot public
Model and vendor change testsNot public
8 / 9

Board Agenda

Convert the evidence into accountable decisions.

Decisions, owners, triggers, required evidence, and questions for management.

Board agenda / next cycle

Four decisions convert the evidence gaps into accountable work.

The board needs named owners, dated deliverables, and explicit release or capital conditions. The acquisition and AI programs are both large enough to require integrated rather than separate control reporting.

Open detailed analysis and evidence4 findings
3 / Compensation CommitteeInferred

Publish the response to compensation opposition.

Segment the 29.36% vote, document holder feedback, identify any program or disclosure changes, and explain the board's reasoning before the 2027 proxy drafting cycle.

Alpha takeaway

The highest near-term priority is to condition broader AI-agent availability on system-level assurance while completing the acquired-business control perimeter.

9 / 9

Evidence

Source lineage, methodology, and current changes.

Change history, claim provenance, source records, definitions, and methodology.

Not available

A dated change ledger is unavailable

The evidence ledger remains available below. Alpha has not inferred a change history.

Evidence ledger

Every material claim has a usable source path.

Evidence cutoff Jul 30, 2026. Source authority is reported separately from claim status, confidence, jurisdiction, evidence date, and comparability. “Not publicly found” identifies a disclosure boundary and never automatically produces a zero governance score. Market values can change after the cutoff.

1 / T2Verified 2026-07-30
FIS 2025 Form 10-K

Legal identity, business model, 2025 financial record, AI risk factors, cybersecurity controls, acquisition financing, and litigation.

6 / T2Verified 2026-07-30
FIS 2026 proxy statement

Board composition, independence, committees, AI oversight, ownership, shareholder engagement, and proposals.